End of the Inventory Chapter

I have reached the end of the Inventory Job chapter of my life!!! FINALLY! I stuck it out and was successful and learned a ton and made many new friends.  Tomorrow is my last day!  Only ten more hours to go!  I am SO excited!  I’m also a bit terrified… Additionally, I’m a bit sad.  I will miss a lot of my old coworkers.  Many of them were nice and it was really the people there that allowed me to stay with the job as long as I did.  I’m relieved this chapter is over though and I’m so glad it’s had a happy end!  June was a great month for me!  I got engaged!  I moved out of the ghetto and into a wonderful apartment!  I had a job interview and was offered a new job!  I am now an Admissions Person with A Private Online University!  That sounds SO MUCH better then Warehouse Person!  My degree is finally worth it!  I’m almost literally making twice what I did at the warehouse job.  My new job starts on 7/25.  Despite all the drama, despite all the shenanigans – I MADE IT!

I really am amazing!  I am so proud of myself for continuing to try and for not settling or giving up.  I’m proud that I’ve maintained my integrity and my friendliness and my smile.  I still see the world as a magical place and things are finally going according to my plans!  All we need now is for Fiance to also get a great job and to get a dog!  And maybe a house!  I don’t know about the house yet though.  I’m excited for the future but I’m also excited for the present!  I can finally look around and be content, at least for a while.  I think this new job will teach me many new skills and I think it will be a place where I can grow!  I can’t believe my Inventory career is over!  It’s so overwhelming!  I hope I don’t cry tomorrow.  I’d wanted to make some people cards… but I didn’t… Everything will be okay.  I just need to keep on smiling and everything will be okay.

(Author’s Note: LoL Irony!  End of inventory indeed…  Also notice my excitement about this job? Yeah, turns out I wasn’t helping anyone go to school.  Nope.  I was a phone salesperson who had to call upwards of 300 people a day and try to get them to apply to get into an online degree program.  They didn’t need school? Nonsense, I just wasn’t able to “overcome their objections.”  What I learned from that job was that there is no way to actually be removed from a call list.  Instead those people are trained to just set a call date for a few months down the road so someone else can have a shot at convincing you.  I only lasted at this job for 6 months.  It was a million times worse then Inventory but at least the money was great!  I had planned on working there to pay for the wedding but they were doing layoffs and I was offered a buy out or a chance to keep an awful job I hated.  I TOOK THE BUY OUT! ALL RIGHT!  I then had a couple months off work to be unemployed.  I used some of the spin selling techniques I learned at this job to spin being unemployed to, “I took a few months off work to plan my wedding.” BAM! And realistically… it totally worked!  I got another job the second week in May (lol a combo Inventory/Office Worker job) and on the first we had an incredible wedding that was well planned and way more affordable then it could have been because I found all the best deals in my spare time. But that’s a story for another entry.)

 

Leave a Reply

