One Ring

Yesterday Boyfriend and I “picked out” my engagement ring!  I didn’t know such a perfect ring was out there!  It was so cool “picking it out” too!  I’m SO happy and excited!  In December I finally told Boyfriend I was ready to get engaged.  We were sitting on the couch and talking about what to do for dinner and he asked me what I wanted.  I paused and said “I want to be engaged.”  He broke out into the hugest smile and said “Good! Because I was going to propose soon whether you were ready or not!”  (Author’s Note:  We had been together for four and a half years in December and he had brought it up before then but I kept telling him things like “Whoa there turbo!  I’m only *insert age here* or “I just graduated college I’m not ready yet!” Silly excuses.  Finally I was ready and that was good because he had been waiting for me to let him know because he was going to propose on our anniversary.) June 1 is our 5 year anniversary and he told me he had decided to do it then because it was our day.

We’ve gone about this engagement the same way we’ve gone about other major decisions we’ve made in our relationship (like moving in together and moving cities).  We decided on something individually and then we talked about it together and came to a decision for us.  Then, we went to our parents and told them our decision and asked them, not for their permission, but for their blessings.  We talked with them about their concerns and tried to help everyone be as comfortable about our decision as we were.  We’ve made the decision to become engaged.  Last week we went to HomeTown and told my parents.  We were going to to to CollegeTown this past weekend and tell his parents but his mom has a concussion so we rain checked.  Yesterday we went to ShaneCo and “found” the perfect engagement ring!  It’s white gold and has a wide band.  It has many diamonds (not diamond chips which apparently is a good thing? I’m just excited because it’s sparkly!) on the band itself.  It has a flower/vine/awesome design.  The detailing is shiny and sparkling and interesting and totally unique to the naked eye.  Under magnification the detailing is breathtaking!  It’s like Boyfriend commissioned this ring for me from a faerie court.  That is how perfect it is and how much I love it!  He’s trying to play it off like we picked it out together.  In fact, that’s what he said on our way here.  Really it was quite convenient how the sales person lead us right to this one which was utterly wonderful and exactly matched what I was hoping for.  I’m convinced he had picked it out before and wasn’t sure I would like it since it’s so unique so he had me come with him to make sure it was the one and to get it sized so it would fit when he did propose. 🙂 (Author’s Note: Yep. Totally called that one! He only just now admitted it too the sly, sly, wonderful man!) Once we “picked it out” the guy told us/me all about diamonds and we “picked out” the central diamond too!  It has a “feather” in it and no dark flecks/”freckles.” A feather is a compression line within a diamond that sort of looks like a crack and is called a feather that can be seen under magnification.  Freckles are little bits of coal still trapped in the diamond that look like little spots under magnification.  I didn’t want darkness in our engagement ring but I’m okay with a feathers because feathers remind me of flying and my heart has wings right now!

I’m so happy for Boyfriend aka SoonToBeFiance and me right now!  I just feel so ready for our future and know that sometimes the forest of life is not a dark and scary trek.  Sometimes the forest is a peaceful, open, happy place with birds singing and sunshine splashing through brilliant green leaves.   I’m caught up in the magical happiness of our love as we move forward to this next part of our journey together. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

