Far Too Tired to Fall Asleep

Eventful days have passed since my last entry.  I saw an allergist here in BigCity.  She gave me nasal wash bottle and instructions to wash 2x a day.  It has helped more then I’d expected but is still pretty gross and really unpleasant.  It definitely makes me feel like a snot beast!  She also took me off one of my daily allergy medications (Singulair).  Apparently one of its major side effects is anxiety.  THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO KNOW EARLIER.  Like I told the doctor, I just thought I was anxious because my life is in chaos.  Apparently not.  So it’s really good to be addressing that situation.  The downside – of course – is that I got sick.  I don’t have bronchitis, yet, which is the bright side.  I managed to get a wretched sinus infection and got steroids and antibiotics (for 10 days).  I was so sick I even missed two days of work!  I’m feeling much better now though (despite sleeping in a garage with the same climate and allergens as the outside since, you know, it’s open to the outside with that stupid gap between the door and the ground that still isn’t fixed.) 

Also, Boyfriend came to visit! YAY!  He came on Tuesday and left Wednesday but it was still amazing!  He met CY (girl who first said hi to me, invited me to Starbucks with her and her friends, and now good work friend), and a couple other friends I’ve made through work.  We all went to a Brewery and it was lots of fun.  Everyone got along really well and I feel better now that Boyfriend’s met everyone!  None of my guy friends came though, which was strange.  It’s ok though because he met the most important people, and of course, so did they!  I have this habit of talking about people like whoever I’m talking to knows the person I’m talking about. Boyfriend even got me early Valentine’s Day flowers so I’d have them for the day!  Yay!  They are quite beautiful and I’m sure they smell wonderful!  ( I don’t actually know how they smell because I can’t breathe though my nose due to the whole being really sick thing I’m dealing with.) 

Today I helped Roommate’s best friend (the one who watches the littledog sometimes) prepare some appetizers for a party she’s having for her other friend.  I volunteered to help and she almost cried from relief.  It was quite fun to help and I learned a cool new party food!  It’s called “Pineapple Porcupine!”  It is 1/2 maraschino cherry, Swiss cheese cubes, pineapple cubes, and cheddar cheese cubes all on a skewer and stuck into  pleasing rounding lines on a pineapple. We alternated the ending food item on each skewer so we had on spiral from the top to the bottom that was red for the cherries, then a spiral line that was white for Swiss cheese, then one that ended with the yellow pineapple, then a spiral row that ended with the orange cheddar cheese.  We put one skewer on each little part of the pineapple.  It was interesting because I had never noticed that those little spiky parts on a pineapple actually do have a spiral pattern!  It was awesome!  The picture below was used from another blog and also used grapes and other fruit.  The blog was right and this piece made a great centerpiece for the food table and also was a tasty crowd pleaser.

pineapple porcupineThis picture was taken from the hydrOtion Natural Skin Care Blog.

 

It went really quickly and we were done with it and 48 deviled eggs by 12:30!  The dog wasn’t even as bad as I was afraid he’d be.  He only ate one plate of cheese and then proceeded to have the WORST gas I’ve ever had the unpleasant experience of smelling.  It was really annoying because I could smell THAT but not my wonderful FLOWERS. LAME!  Roommate’s best friend was really surprised and relieved at how quickly we finished the food.  I had lots of fun and feel great about helping.  She is retired and wants to do so much but its hard for her sometimes to get around.  Also her and Roommate are some of my “go-to” people in BigCity so it feels good to be able to help them in return.  

DARK AND SCARY PART OF POST (REALLY. THAT’S NOT SARCASM): The random and distinctly unsettling part of the day was overhearing a conversation she had on the phone.  I didn’t think much of it at the time but now I can’t sleep because I feel so much anxiety and I think it’s because of what I heard.  Basically, the gist is this: Roommate’s Best Friend has received at least 3 threatening letters.  She shredded the first one but now the post office, police, and FBI are involved.  Someone is threatening to kill her!  He says things like her days are numbered.  She claims not to be worried because she has guns everywhere (which she does because I found two in the kitchen today while I was helping) but she says she’ll for sure press charges against this guy.  I’m not worried about her because I’m sure she is quite capable of protecting herself.  Instead my imagination has run away because of the influences of so many fiction books.  If this guy serioously wants to hurt her but doesn’t want to go after her directly (which he doesn’t because he’s threatening her with letters) then it makes sense to go after the people closest to her.  Well the only person close to her is her bestfriend: my Roommate!  Basically Roommate is her closest/best/only real friend and they’re quite close. Wanting to hurt Roommate’s best friend coud cause someone devious to go after Roommate.  But Roommate is gone flying all the time- but I’m not! I live in her big, empty, scary, house alone most of the time.  I don’t have a gun.  It’s worrisome to think about.  I think I need to learn more about the situation and relax a ton.  Take it down a notch and all that.  It is now 4:24am and I still can’t turn off the lights or TV so I can go to bed.  WTF stupid anxiety?!?!?! ARRRGH! 

(Author’s Note: Turns out I wasn’t overreacting as much as I thought I was.  The guy was her daughter’s ex husband who had gotten out of jail in another state, found Roommate’s Best Friend and traveled to BigCity and was attempting to make contact with a gang so he could put a hit on her.  He was picked up by the police about two months after this entry and is back in jail as far as I know.  I have lost touch with both Roommate and her Best Friend in the last few years but last I heard they were all healthy, happy, and safe.  (Disclaimer:  If you or someone you know has received a threatening letter, take it seriously.  Save the letter and file a police report.  Lock your doors; get a security system, etc.)   Roommate was a crazy lady and when I talked with her about the situation and told her I didn’t feel safe since I didn’t have a key to the house and had to leave it hidden near the front door since she ran a side business out of one of the rooms and had strangers accessing her house while I was and was not there.  She said because of that business I couldn’t take the key and couldn’t use the security system.  She never did give me the code and when I took the key anyway or tried bringing it inside while I was there alone, people would show up and not be able to get in and call her and complain and then the next time I saw her she would scream at me.  Her suggestion for feeling safe:  a wine bottle on my nightstand.  She said I could hit someone with it if I needed to. I sincerely wish I was joking.  It really is amazing what you can grow accustomed to.)

Lighter note:  Oh yeah, on another note- today I got a haircut!I went to one of those little chains and for $19 including tip I washed my hair and cut 3 inches off.  It looks much the same as before, but shorter and healthier.  I think I like it.  I’m growing out my natural color.  That part, I love.  We will see how the hair really is over the next few days.  I hope it’s good because it feels really good.  Now I’m going to try and sleep again.  What a crazy, interesting day!  What a crazy, interesting life! Ciao!

Leave a Reply

