The smell of rain settled into her hair like a promise.

There was a monsoon today.  When I got home after working I looked to my right and as my hair went over my shoulder I smelled rain.  It hadn’t rained yet and no longer smelled like rain but I felt like the smell of rain should mean It was really going to rain.  It was a cool thought I wanted to write down to use in a poem.  Here is how I got there:

The <promising> smell of rain curled and folded into her hair; she smelled of spring and a promise.

The smell of ra…

Leave a Reply

