Meanwhile, In Faerie’s Imagination

“Inspiration struck as she was amidst the stacks.  Furtively, she looked around, pulled out her notebook and began furiously scribbling (hopping she could read it later!) 

“What are you doing?”  She screeched and jumped two feet into the air as her notebook went flying, pages in disarray.  “Get back to work!  That wasn’t counting!  Them was words on those pages!  I don’t pay you to scribble, I pays ye to count, move boxes, and count more!  Not scribble in yer little book!”  She picked up the offensive book in question and stowed it away quickly in her pocket and got back to working.”

 

This little scene struck me like a bottle falling on my head off a tall shelf today while I was working in the warehouse back room.  I looked around and didn’t see anyone so I pulled out my notebook and wrote it down.  It was fascinating to me because it was a fictionalized commentary about actual events that took place as a result of imagining the fictional commentary.  Ironically if my boss had seen me writing in my notebook she would have criticized me for it…. Some days all you can do is laugh in defiance of the madness of your surroundings.

 

Leave a Reply

