Reality is Invading My Escapism

Currently I’m between the pages of Witches Abroad Terry Pratchett and Distracted by Maggie Jackson

Last night I read a bit more of Witches Abroad.  It is quite comical, wonderfully entertaining, and definitely escapism of the best possible kind.  I quite enjoy his witches’ books from the Discworld.

Today, while I was between bouts of reading:

Continued “The Job Search” today.  I attempted to apply to six positions, and actually applied to two.  I went to four locations to inquire as to the availability of work and was promptly dismissed from two, politely put off at one, and cautiously encouraged to apply at the last.  At the last location in addition to the actual application and the promise of the person putting in “two good words” for me, a potential alternative job offer was made.  The job: dressing up in a dorky costume and holding a sign to get the attention of passing cars so that they would enter and possibly rent from our apartment complex.  The person thoughtfully thought of another resident and myself as candidates silly/desperate enough to be interested in such a position.  I am shamed to say that I didn’t say yes because my pride wouldn’t let me.  I am at such a low point that this is only the second actual job offer I have received since graduating from University in May with a Bachelor of Arts in English.

I got a check in the mail today.  It was for $2.67.  It was compensation for the gas involved in being summoned but not picked for jury duty.  Sadly, it is the most money I have made in months.  I burst into tears upon opening the check because I am feeling overwhelmed, terrified, and hopeless. Also, I realized I forgot to get my allergy shot today.  It was supposed to be the second shot.

On the verge of a panic attack because the torrent of reality is crashing and drowning my streaming consciousness, I escape into Peggle.  Peggle is a game for either your computer or your Xbox360 sort of like Plinco (from The Price is Right) but with a super bouncy ball and unicorns and the “Ode to Joy”.  It’s an AMAZING game!  I played the adventure campaign on Xbox with a friend.  We were one level from completion when the time came to pick up Boyfriend from work. Reality is invading my escapism.

My “happily ever after” seems far off today.

Leave a Reply

